NetGear WGR614v9 as an accesspoint?

This is something that has been on my todo list for a while now, so I figured I would crowdsource it…

In october, I acquired a Netgear WGR614v9 Wireless G router as an emergency router for ABLEconf 2009’s foss game day. It got the job done, but after that was basically useless because I had a much nicer (Busybox/Linux-based) D-link DIR615 Wireless N router. I spent quite a while trying to get the pesky netgear to properly act as an access point to bridge the computers that I have upstairs with the d link downstairsto no real avail — the only real useful guide, is NetGear’s knowledge base, which doesn’t address the creation of a wireless bridge, only a wired one (which I don’t see the point of but…🙂 )….

At the fedora marketing fad, I acquired some really cool hardware to try to play with. Unfortunately the device isn’t wireless enabled.😦 Because of the way my network is laid out, everything in the upstairs of my house is on a wireless connection, including my parents’ desktop. So, this device cannot be used with my network architecture as it is.

network layout.png

I think I also have a Linksys WRT54Gv5 that could be used in place of the NetGear, but that is, at the moment, a fun looking brick, so I’d have to resuscitate it.

Any help/howtos is much appreciated.🙂

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

~ by Ryan Rix on 18 March 2010.

9 Responses to “NetGear WGR614v9 as an accesspoint?”

  1. I think I’m going to frame that picture and put it in my living room.

  2. Have you tried setting up WDS? According to the netgear FAQs, you should be able to do exactly what you want.
    Also, you could try porting tomato or openwrt to it. Since netgear makes the linux firmare available at http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2649, including the scripts to create the image, it should be possible and would give you a lot more options. I’d do it if I had the time/knowledge, as I’d love to have my routers running tomato.

  3. Slightly different approach, but power over ethernet is a good way to bridge networks between floors. Usally faster that wireless.

  4. If you can install things on it:
    bridge-utils

    That will allow you to bridge any interface with another. Might solve your problem

  5. Hi,

    don’t you need two Accesspoints to bridge? I mean like two Accesspoints which act like one ethernet-cable. They will operate in a different mode than the Accesspoints which will be connected by them.

    At least, that’s what a local sys admin told me….

  6. Hi,

    for your network setup you should configure the Netgear in client mode

  7. This is exactly the setup I have at home (TiVo included). I am using 2 WRT54GL, one as main access point/route upstairs and the other as a *bridge* downstairs serving my TiVo/TV/BD Player. I am running Tomato firmware on both ends. It is fairly trivial to do with Tomato and you can find a lot of example online. Just search Google for some examples.

  8. Hi there, were you able to solve your problem finally?
    I want to do the same thing here (a wireless bridge between a Dlink DIR-615 and Netgear Wgr614v9)
    Thanks beforehand for your help.
    -S

    • Hi Sergio,

      I ended up unbricking the wrt-54g v5 that I had, and installing dd-wrt, which has been working wonderfully for a while now🙂

Leave a Reply

 
