The Great Desktop Desktop Switchoff Day 3

Today was a pretty good day. I walked home from school today using evince to read my current assignment. While I could also do this in KDE, it was the first time I had used evince. It’s a really anorexic document viewer and lacks things like review tools that KDE’s okular has but it is a good tool.

I’ve noticed that sometimes GNOME’s icon theme randomly changes. Check out the screenshot below and notice that it randomly switches to using oxygen instead of mist. This is a system wide change, and I’m not exactly sure what triggers it😦

Found a nice cool feature that I may port to Plasma’s clock applets:

The list of upcoming Tasks and Appointments is exceedingly cool, imo

Also, Felix helped me get my compiz config working in GNOME.

  1. Install compizconfig-backend-gconf
  2. in ccsm, go to preferences
  3. export your current ccsm settings
  4. change from flat file to gconf based settings backend
  5. import your ccsm .profile you created
  6. ???
  7. Profit!

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

~ by Ryan Rix on 19 February 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
