The Great Desktop Switchoff Day 2-3: Getting into the trenches

So the last few days I have been settling in on using GNOME more, and I’m a little bit more comfortable with it. I’ve dropped Gwibber for Choqok as the UI is imo as unusable as GScribble was. If pidgin keeps up this use-both-cpu-cores-with-no-particular-reason thing, I’m probably going to drop it, too. It’s probably due to one of the plugins I am using, but I have no real way to know for sure.

Let’s see… what else do I have to complain about?😉

I guess you could take a look.🙂 (BIG AWESOMEness for Felix for setting up that page and filling in the KDE side)

The list of not-annoyances is larger than the list of annoyances though, so I guess it’s kinda okay. I think GNOME works a little better than KDE in terms of using it in tablet only mode, still trying to figure out exactly _why_ that is.

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

~ by Ryan Rix on 18 February 2010.

3 Responses to “The Great Desktop Switchoff Day 2-3: Getting into the trenches”

  1. empathy > pidgin

  2. but even empathy has stil a long way to go… empathy crashes on my computere nore often than pidgin for example… actually: pidgin never crashes anymore…

  3. Indeed, I’ve had mixed reactions with empathy. Currently pleased with kopete+clearlooks theming.

Leave a Reply

 
