Rant about prom, I guess

"They’ve got a gun in my face and a knife in my back; don’t wind me up too tight"

Yesterday I decided that I won’t be going to prom this year. What’s the point? "Oh the high school experience, it’ll be so much fun"

No. It won’t.

There are very few people who I would be comfortable with and enjoy taking to prom. Unfortunately, the people that I have any interest in taking to prom are either already going with someone else or are simply not going for various other reasons. I’m not taking someone that I’m ‘friends’ with[1] simply to go, no. I want to actually enjoy myself, and dance with someone I care about.

As far as I can tell, most girls look at prom as a fashion show, who can get the most attention, who can bitch at the other girls for having a dress to similar to their own. No, I won’t be a part of this. Call me a stick in the mud, I don’t care, it’s just not something I’m interested in taking part in. High school girls are childish creatures (the vast majority, anyways) and I want absolutely nothing to do with them any more.

[1] I’m sick of the word ‘friend’ getting completely bastardized to ‘people you know.’ I blame farcebook, and MySpace, they’re who are at fault for the destruction of real friendships. I’m still of the belief that friends are people you can actually count on and enjoy hanging out with, or share some special bond with. Not people simply know from school or whatever. Nicole, Leah, Giacomo, AJ and the short list of folks I am friends with online are the only people I really consider friends, farcebook be damned.

I guess I’m just in a bad mood today😦

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

~ by Ryan Rix on 2 February 2010.

2 Responses to “Rant about prom, I guess”

  1. fwiw: I didn’t go to my high school prom either, for some of the same reasons. I didn’t feel the need to go “just to go,” and all the trouble and fuss (not to mention the expense) for a night that I wasn’t really thrilled about to begin with.

    After thinking through what the evening was likely to be like – my friends (all older) paired off, me as a tag-along 2N+1-th wheel – and the opportunity cost involved, I decided to do what I actually wanted; go home (I was at a residential magnet high school) and celebrate my 17th birthday with my family, a few old friends, and a teacher I was particularly close to in middle school. (Because of the residential nature of my high school and the during-the-school-year nature of my birthday, I hadn’t actually celebrated a birthday with my family since my 14th.)

    It was wonderful.

    I know prom was a much bigger and more special deal for some of my friends, and that’s ok – I’m glad they had a wonderful night. So did I, doing my own thing.

    Don’t dismiss all high school girls as childish, though.🙂 The ones worth getting to know are probably quietly thinking similar things in the background – the hard part is finding them. College is much the same way.

    Anyhow – I probably sound like an old fogey by this point, but one way I’ve found useful for thinking about stuff like this is asking what’s going to make me happier 50 years from now, and doing that. It’s worked so far.

    Have a wonderful prom weekend, no matter what you end up doing.

    • The girls that I want to go with are the ones that aren’t childish, and already going with other folks. Oops🙂

      I do the same thing mostly about asking myself what would make me happier, usually five years not fifty years, but you hardly sound like an old fogey🙂

Leave a Reply

 
