The Great Desktop Switchoff 2010

Up for a challenge of epic proportions?

Mel Chua and I will be embarking on an epic quest, a quest for knowledge, of power and of learning.

Mel and I will be switching desktops between February 15-22 — she will be running KDE for that week, and I will run GNOME. Not only will this be an interesting chance to expose myself to new software, and expose Mel to new software, it will also give me a chance to see ways to improve KDE and its applications and help break the stigma that I have against the GNOME desktop🙂

I encourage other users to join us, it is always a good way to learn about new things and possibly break the, seemingly, high wall of “I hate $DE, it sux”

So, I encourage anyone to join us in this experiment🙂 It’s only a week, and it would probably be a good learning experience for everyone, as well as a good team building experience, in that you know you can go to the people who switched desktops with you for help😉

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

~ by Ryan Rix on 22 January 2010.

7 Responses to “The Great Desktop Switchoff 2010”

  1. ahhh come on! Use lesser known Desktops, on TiT Radio (http://titradio.info) we just did a 2 week switch where you couldn’t run any “major” desktop. This excluded GNOME, KDE, XFCE, fluxbox, openbox, and LXDE from use. So what ended up being used was ratpoision, fvwm, rox-desktop, sawfish, and some others that I don’t remember. Switching from GNOME to KDE or vicea versa is nothing.

  2. […] the original post here:  Ryan Rix "PhrkOnLsh": The Great Desktop Switchoff 2010 Share and […]

  3. I know a lot less about GNOME than you know about KDE (mostly I’ve used it because it’s the default and I haven’t had time to play with window managers since my “enlightenment! fluxbox! xfce! $other_random_thing_I_found!” experiments in high school and first year college. So I may have to lurk around GNOME-land and play with it a little more before the swap week so I can spot and understand more differences.

    Totally looking forward to this!

  4. One week might be enough if you plan to test and compare the features. But if you are planning to use it for daily routine work and get a picture while at it, it might not be enough.

    See, I’ve used KDE and KDE apps (and other DEs too) quite often. But my preferred DE is GNOME. It’s simple enough and convenient. I ran only KDE 4.1 for about 2-3 weeks to give it a fair time. It was ok, but I’m since back on GNOME.🙂

  5. […] you may have read earlier, Ryan Rix and I are doing a desktop switchoff next week: he’s going to go GNOME for a week, and I’m going KDE. In order to prep up […]

  6. […] Great Desktop Switchoff Day 1: Setup and first impressions Today was the first day of the desktop switchoff Mel Chua and I planned. Along for the ride, so far, are Felix Kaechele, and Bert Desmit, both GNOME folks along with […]

Leave a Reply

 
