Things I learned at Camp KDE 2010

Things I learned at Camp KDE 2010:

  • Having a weird red eye that doesn’t hurt or mess with your vision is awkward, and makes for awkward photos.
  • Chani has an epic sticker collection (though she may have lost it๐Ÿ˜ not sure)
  • Trying to run through the rain is a stupid idea. Especially in a short sleeve shirt and no umbrella.
  • Real rain is pretty intense. Phoenix never gets rain like this weekend’s.
  • It is possible to live on three hours of sleep and little coffee when you are pumped up to be somewhere.
  • Troy hates the f—ing eagles, and is a geologist.๐Ÿ™‚
  • All Germans and Dutch folks are bloody.
  • Americans drive pickups, carry shotguns, and chase birds. All of them.
  • Multigrain pancakes cooked in vegetable oil on a gas stove that won’t keep a sane temperature is suboptimal but still earns happy breakfast eaters.
  • karaoke is epic win when done correctly.
  • There’s no better way to spend your 18th birthday than karaoke with friends, or watching The Big Lebowski, or hanging out on a deck by the ocean.๐Ÿ˜€
  • People seem so familiar. Even after only knowing them for days, they are like friends you have known for years. It’s as though you have known them from before, you recognize the face, but can’t tie a past name to it. It’s a strange feeling, but I was able to do that for most campers, at least the ones at the hostel. Even those I didn’t know well on IRC beforehand.
  • It’s really hard to say good bye.

I have met so many amazing people this weekend, and knowing that I may not see (m)any of them until next year’s camp is a really depressing thought.๐Ÿ˜ฆ I simply cannot wait until the next time we meet up for a weekend like this. It may be in the Great White North, but that’s okay, I guess.๐Ÿ™‚

I guess this will be my last post about Camp KDE until next year’s, so I just want to thank everyone who helped me have a really amazing 18th birthday, a really amazing learning experience, and a chance to meet so many awesome people.๐Ÿ™‚

I came to this conference to learn about KDE development, and get energized to do something. I missed the Qt training that will be tomorrow, unfortunately, so that first part will be a longer term project for me๐Ÿ™‚ But I’m pumped and ready to kick some major butt!

Jeff is a master at doing a good job setting up events, I think. Camp KDE was 99% flawless, besides a few behind-schedule-ness days, which was mostly because we started late (because we all need coffee๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and there were so many awesome questions during the presentations at the event. Regardless of that one issue, the event was epic win, and Jeff should get a large gold star taped to his Amarok tee shirt for all of this.

Everyone who stayed in the hostel was simply awesome, including some of the people who didn’t go to camp, and were just there. That random guy who sang Bobby McGee is a Karaoke god, for example. I think he was literally sweating after singing that song.

And then there are the folks who I spent the last four days with, hacking, eating, and having fun with. I can’t say enough about all of you, and at the same time, I can hardly say anything at all because I am speechless. Jos, Frank, Troy, Blauzahl, Aaron, Ade, Marco, Helio, Jeff, Chani, and everyone I am too tired to remember; you all ROCK!! Seriously. It almost makes me wish KDE wasn’t such an amazing global community, that we could all get together and do things like this more often. Alas, we are an awesome global community though, and that’s what makes us as amazing as we are๐Ÿ™‚

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

~ by Ryan Rix on 20 January 2010.

4 Responses to “Things I learned at Camp KDE 2010”

  1. […] more here: Ryan Rix "PhrkOnLsh": Things I learned at Camp KDE 2010 Share and […]

  2. Ryan-man, it really sucks I couldn’t hug you good bye – I noticed you left but didn’t even know when exactly… However this is a lovely blog post, thanks for the cuteness๐Ÿ˜‰

    And be sure you’re not alone in this, most if not all KDE people feel this way at a meeting. I used to tell ppl it’s the most amazing thing ever to meet fellow gearheads, and usually this creates such expectations ppl are disappointed. Well, not here๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Frack, mate, did I not give you a hug??๐Ÿ˜ฆ I know that I said good bye to you the first time I left, but I had no idea I forgot to give you a hug. I was kinda of in a stupor those last few hours๐Ÿ˜

  4. […] spent my 18th birthday in San Diego, California for Camp KDE. It was more or less a life changing experience to me, because it was the […]

Leave a Reply

 
