Oh GTK, how I love learning about thee?

Hey guys, I need some help from a GTK developer more talented and knowledgeable than I. I’m trying to make a nice UI for Fedora-tour’s first page, in which a user is presented a quick tour of some installed software, and fedora in general, à la:

Unfortunately, as far as I can tell, this is basically impossible without using gtk.Fixed, which, from my interperetation, sucks. I’ve been told by a few people to implement a UIBuilder object and construct it from XML, but I can’t really ‘do’ that because the content is being generated dynamically, and these icons may or may not exist, or may exist in a different order than is set in the XML. The key for Fedora-tour is to make the content editors’ (Docs team, marketing team, possibly SIGs) job as easy as possible, including not making them have to patch a big-old-XML for the entire application’s GUI. An XML UIBuilder simply is not possible in this case.😦

anyone have any idea on how to handle this?

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Bilbo Blogger

~ by Ryan Rix on 9 December 2009.

3 Responses to “Oh GTK, how I love learning about thee?”

  1. How about having it as a SVG (you can navigate inside it with hyperlinks) rendered in a window via Gecko or WebKit?

  2. […] post:  Ryan Rix "PhrkOnLsh": Oh GTK, how I love learning about thee? Share and […]

  3. I suggest looking at Clutter which is what the Shell is built on. It gives you a canvas you can place things on but requires a graphics card that can support GL efficently. You can also look at 2d canvases such as GooCanvas (used by PiTiVi for its timeline widget) or hippo-canvas, used by the OLPC and the now defunct Mugshot. Each canvas has its own pitfalls.

    You can also use GtkWebkit as nicu has suggested. I’m not sure how easy/hard it is to work with though and there could be security implications if you allow the app to interact with both the web and the desktop.

Leave a Reply

 
