On Reinstalls — Or “Nirik, what does -i do?”

So, after I got my laptop back, I decided to put that 500GiB hdd to good use, and opened up my laptop and swapped the drives (YOU DIDNT READ THAT!), and proceeded to reinstall my system from the backup 160GiB hdd (which Asus ended up not erasing at all… heh) Talking in IRC got me a few different methods of doing this. The easiest and final decision thanks to Ben (aka mathstuf of #fedora-kde) was:

Run on the source:
rpm -qa –qf “%{name}” > packagelist.txt

And on the target:
cat packagelist.txt | xargs yum install

Because the yum install of some 1700 packages took about an hour to setup of the download, and it took me three tries before I gave up due to dependancy hell, I decided to add just a tiny little –max-args 10 to the xargs, giving me a final command of `cat packagelist.txt | xargs –max-args 10 yum install` which worked beautifully after about two hours of installs.

After that getting /home off the device was fairly trivial, though it took me two runs because I missed the DOT dirs the first time around, I ended up with the following command:

/bin/cp -arvf /media/home/* /home/

The command references /bin/cp to get around Fedora’s default alias which is to include -i, which makes overwriting many files utter hell. After that I simply rebooted and started KDE, just like it’d been before🙂

To mount the LVM Fedora creates on first install (HAL doesn’t detect LVMs):
su –
lvscan
vgchange -a y
mount /dev/vg_hostname/lv_root

The post is brought to you by lekhonee v0.7

~ by Ryan Rix on 30 August 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
