On Lack of Interests — Or what now?

The more I look at my life the less sure I am of my future. I am unsure of where I want to go to college, much less how on earth I will afford to go to any college at all. I am unsure of my job and whether I am cut out for programming as a career. I am unable to do anything remotely productive with my free time. It’s kind of scary. Today I realized how I have no real hobbies.

  • Install and tweak software on my computer
  • Help people out in IRC, usually with limited success
  • Waste time on social networks

At one time, programming was on that list. Since I’ve taken up a job doing it for 40 hours a week I have done no lazycoding, and through some recent events at work, I am even unsure of whether I should be doing it at all. The stupidest little mistakes that you know you should not make, but do anyways, the kind of thing that makes you ask “wtf am I doing?” Things like installing the wrong package to production, or including silly bugs that shouldn’t exist at all, and more… It’s scary to know that I may someday do that for a living. I agree with Atwood, in that we are all shitty programmers, but still…

I had a lot of goals this summer… I wanted to learn guitar, I wanted to apply for a ton of scholarships, I wanted to do a hell of a lot of programming (OnBoard-NG is dead, officially) and you know what? I did NONE of that… The only thing I did was work, sleep and angst. Is there a name for this?

The post is brought to you by lekhonee v0.7

~ by Ryan Rix on 30 August 2009.

2 Responses to “On Lack of Interests — Or what now?”

  1. That name is “Welcome to the group” I guessđŸ™‚

  2. Well, Michiel, you’re a master slacker getting his mastersđŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

