Hello blag!

Well, I’ve decided to try to forge a new blag. This time I’m not hosting it on my laptop.๐Ÿ™‚ Basically, I’m just going to use it as a place to dump my life, my code, and various other useful/stupid/interesting things.

If you don’t know me yet, I’m an insurance adjuster by birth, and hacker by choice. I’m an avid (some call it religious :P) supporter of GNU/Linux and Free Software in general. And in the next sentence I will tell you that I work at a software consulting group working in a completely Microsoft powered ecosystem (ASP.NET, MSSQL, IIS and more goodies) but I enjoy the job and get to gain some great experience doing what I love most: Programming.

While I have never actually released any software (successfully) I have spent countless hours working on various software projects for multiple platforms. In particular I have done work on PalmOS, KDE/Qt, Windows, and more recently Palm webOS. The webOS stuff isn’t really official, just some raw apps based on the mojo docs/examples I have seen online. Should be great stuff coming from me and the rest of the webOS developers when the SDK actually goes public. I cannot wait :3 I also can not wait for the Prehackers to get the Palm Pre to work on Verizon totally and completely. I think I will try my hand in getting plasma or some other KDE components working on the device as some other KDE hackers have. That would be simply amazing.

In terms of life outside of code, I really have none๐Ÿ™‚ I pretty much just spend my time on the computer, whether it’s knee deep in code, or talking on IRC to friends (catch me as PhrkOnLsh in irc.freenode.net or raven.serenia.net!), or simply dicking around on facebook, it’s kind of a way of life for me :] I do all my work on an EEE1000HE netbook, which is just a simply beautiful machine. It runs Fedora 11 GNU/Linux (The Leonidas release. THIS IS FEDDDDDDDDDOOOOOOORAAAA) and KDE. KDE is just a splendid desktop. Many of the posts on this blag will be centered around just how sexy and awesome KDE is๐Ÿ™‚

~ by Ryan Rix on 11 July 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
